The 100 Thing Challenge nº6. The 2nd Purge.

Just a quick summary for those who don´t know what this is all about. I have decided to decrease the amount of things I own from “who knows how many” to 100. I have been pushing in this direction for many months already although I had not put a number to it. I want to just to have the things that I need and donate the rest.
——

IMG_20131108_171355

it all fits on one bed…

It´s been months since I´ve done my “100 Things Challenge” clean out. I got rid of so many things that were just hanging around in my room and I actually didn´t really use.

I was very happy with the outcome. Letting loose of things seems more difficult than it actually is. Everything you want to throw away or donate suddenly seems to acquire an aura of usefulness which is just your brain saying “You haven´t used it in 4 years…but…soon you might need it!”.

With this reasoning we accumulate a ton of things we rarely or never use. I think few people can look around their rooms/houses and say: “nah…I actually AM using everything”. Just give it a try. How many things you can get in a quick glimpse of an eye do you actually use on a daily or weekly basis?

So I decided to do the second Purge. Yeah I know…it´s a stupid name but it sounds SO EPIC!

I´ve been putting all the things I want to keep on my bed and putting the things I will donate in a box. Second time. I´m happy to say that I feel I have less useless stuff…although you always can find things.

I do this for the following reason. I believe that if I own less things I will also give material possessions less value, or the one they actually SHOULD have, and maybe value the things I already have more. The less things I have the easier it is to let go of a place. The less things I have to think about when making a decision, etc

And you know what? It works. I know that 60% of the STUFF that I had in my room I didn´t need or I didn´t use. Somebody else could use it. I only 2 or 3 times in all these months felt “damn…I could really use that _____ that I donated”, but I NEVER felt like I made a wrong decision.

This doesn´t mean that I never  say things like: “damn…I really need a new computer”. I do. I have a list of 5 things that I need. But only 5. I never buy clothes I don´t really need. I don´t suddenly fall for buying this or that. Everything I need I have really thought about. A laptop, decent camera, Kindle, external hard drive and maybe a tent. That´s all that is in my list…! Well…if I could buy a Dinosaur it would definitely be in the list too…

So here goes my list:
1- Swiss knife 2-shitty 18th century laptop 3- Old Chinese version e-book 4-My awesome Orange backpack 5-MP3 6-Phone(good substute for at least 10 things!) 7-cook book 8-my thoughts block 9- little notebook 10-big notebook 11-my watch DIED. 11-One exercise band 12- Sleeping bag 13- Quick drying towel 14-small sports towel 15 Camera ran away from me 😦 15-pens+marker 16-Board making markers 17-Frankenstein Coca-cola backpack 18-small purple backpack 19-wallet 20-ear plugs 21-glasses 22-Deodorant (I was going to write Axe..but it can lead to confusion) 23-tooth-brush+toothpaste 24- Sand clock 25- Memory stick 26- Scratch map 27- Stop watch I found out quite late that it wasn´t working well… 27- Barra de abdominales 27-Spork 28-Gas bottle 29- Camping Gas 30-Silvan´s Bookmark 31+32- 2 pairs of jeans 33+34- pairs of short pants(piratas) 35+36+37- Sport shirts 38+39 Meditation/indoor pants 40+41- sport pants 42+43- Pijama pants+tshirt 44-Swimming trunks 45-Rain jacket 46+47 2 “bragas de cuello”. No idea how it is named in English. 48+49+50 jackets 51-Underpants 52-socks 53-cooling box 54-gloves 55- 2nd hand shop winter hat 56-belt 57+58- long shirts 59- “normal” shoes 60- Running shoes 61-trekking shoes 62-slippers 63- flip-flops 64+65+66+67+68+69+70+71+72+73-t-shirts 74-sanitizer liquid 75-flash light 76-bathroom bag 77+78+79- 3 shirts 80 Alarm clock  80-Turkish “puff” 81-travel pillow 81- trimming machine 82 Meditation pillow 82-paper organizer 83-nasal spray(more important than clothes if you ask me!) 84-Ipad. Hope to get a computer soon!

Phew! Done! I´m sure I´ll find some things to add soon enough but for the moment that is enough!
To live a happy life you don´t need many things or luxurious things. If you do…you´ll probably never be totally satisfied because there will always be a possibility of having more or better.

I believe, because I am experimenting with myself and my own life, that we can live a more satisfactory and fulfilling life when we appreciate the things we have more and think less of what others have and we don´t. You really DONT need so many things to be happy. Just the things you need. Being happy is up to you…not the things you own!

What do you think? I´ve goen bat shit? Am I completely “loco”? Have you ever thought of the amount of things you have and don´t use? What are your ideas on this challenge? Comment! Share! LIKE!

This entry was posted in The 100 Thing Challenge! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The 100 Thing Challenge nº6. The 2nd Purge.

  1. Isa says:

    Thoreau said in his book ‘Walden’: “Most of the luxuries, and many of the so-called comforts of life, are not only not indispensable, but positive hindrances to the elevation of mankind. With respect to luxuries and comforts, the wisest have ever lived a more simple and meagre life than the poor. The ancient philosophers, Chinese, Hindoo, Persian, and Greek, were a class than which none has been poorer in outward riches, none so rich in inward (…) None can be an impartial or wise observer of human life but from the vantage ground of what we should call voluntary poverty”.
    ‘Voluntary poverty’, what a concept… You may enjoy reading that book.

  2. Shereen says:

    We need to know the exact number of underpants and socks 😛

Leave a Reply

